Birth/Death Certificates

Birth Certificates

Individuals may obtain a birth certificate for themselves or any immediate family member which includes those family members and in-laws in the direct line of descent up to but not including cousins if the birth occurred anywhere in the state of Missouri after 1920.  The fee is $15.00 per copy.  Cash, check or money order accepted;  no credit or debit cards accepted.

Death Certificates

Individuals may obtain a death certificate for any family member if the person passed away anywhere in the state of Missouri after 1980.  The fee is $13.00 for the first copy, $10.00 for additional copies of the same certificate obtained at that time.  Cash, check or money order is accepted:  no credit or debit cards accepted.

How to obtain certificates

In person:  Complete an application and pay the required fee by cash, check or money order.  The certificate can be printed immediately, provided there are no discrepancies between the information provided on the application and that within the state system. Applicants MUST show photo identification when requesting certified copies of a vital record.

By Mail:  Certificates can be obtained through the mail and are normally sent out the same day the application is received, provided there are no discrepancies between the information provided on the application and that within the state system.  Mail-in requests MUST be notarized by an acceptable notary public.

Missouri Application for Birth/Death Certificates